Danielle’s Story

me8 years ago I had a beautiful baby girl; this is the start of when my struggle with weight began. I was 5’2  and 136 pounds when I found out I was pregnant. My pregnancy was normal and I barely gained any weight until the last 6 weeks averaging 7-10 lbs a week. I went into the hospital at 190 lbs, after 26 hours of labor on a Pitocin drip and birthing a 7 lb infant I left the hospital at 202 lbs. How could this be? Unbeknownst to me synthetic hormones are not my friend. 8 weeks after my c-section I had an IUD inserted which contained progesterone; over the years I slowly crept up to 256 lbs. I tried all types of weight loss methods, attending boot camp classes, eating a strict 1400 calorie a day diet, weight watchers, teas, you name it I tried it and nothing worked so I gave up. I began to suffer from depression which dropped my motivation down to zero. I had accepted being fat for the rest of my life. Fast forward to 2016, I had my IUD removed and once that happened I lost 18 lbs within 4 weeks. My doctor informed me that I can no longer use any forms of hormonal birth control due to the way my body reacts to it which is extreme weight gain. Since June 26, 2016 to date I have lost a total of 50 lbs with little effort. I began working out 1-2 days a week in October 2016 and have been able to see steady changes in my body since then. I am using this forum to not only document my weight loss journey but to support my friend and hopefully inspire someone else who needs encouragement.

One thought on “Danielle’s Story

Leave a Reply

