Diet Foodie . . .

Some say that dieting is hard because it’s hard to find good food.  Diet food is so boring, bland, etc.  Being a person who loves food, I take joy in finding new recipes that help me change my lifestyle and broaden my culinary skills :-).  One of the biggest steps to lifestyle changing is staying away from processed food and replacing it with fresh, home made food.  I’d like to share one of my favorite recipes:  Oxtail Stew!!!!  Now forgive me in advance, I missed some photos in my directions and I had even forgotten to add a photo of my finished product, so I had to steal some finished photos off of the web.  Thanks to my unknown contributors. I’ll do better next time, I promise.

Have you ever had ox tails?  They’re absolutely divine in my opinion.  They’re a great source of Vitamin B6, Vitamin B12 and Calcium.  The fat and bone provide amazing flavor to the meat.  They do have a particularly unique texture and the meat is a bit of a task to obtain around the bone.  However, the reward is worth it.  This is my first try at making a recipe instruction, so forgive me in advance for how amateur it will be 🙂

So . . .

For starters, I’ve taken about 3.5 lbs of ox tail meat.  When selecting meat, any meat, we want to be sure that the fat is white.  This helps determine how fresh the meat is.

16111271_824628127938_1653388048_n

This meat is to be boiled for about 20-30 minutes.  When you see foam on top of the water, this is the impurities that need to be removed.  (From what I read)  Once that’s done, remove the ox tails and we can start on our dish.

First, in a dutch oven, brown a head of garlic (yup, a whole head) in olive oil and a few pinches of salt.  I like mine only lightly browned for this particular recipe.  I brown it only until it becomes fragrant

Once I’ve browned my garlic, I add my chicken broth and water, herbs, and ox tails . . .

Once that comes to a boil, let it simmer for 5-6 hours.  If you’re feeling naughty within the last hour of cooking, add in potatoes and carrots.  I opted to not use potatoes and carrots to avoid the extra carbs (booo).  I served my ox tails with sauteed french-style string beans and salad.

Ingredients:

3.5 lbs Ox Tails

4 cups Chicken Broth

4 cups Water

1 head garlic

2 Bay Leaves

1 sprig Fresh Rosemary (or 3 tbsp dry)

Salt (I can’t recall the amount.  I’m sorry.  Maybe about 5 or 6 tbsp)

3 tbsp Thyme

2 tbsp Red Pepper Flakes

I hope you enjoy this recipe.  How do you like to prepare your ox tails?

~ Adriane

3 thoughts on “Diet Foodie . . .

Leave a Reply

